A very good friend of mine, Andy Deemer  (producer of Troma’s rollicking chicken zombie film Poultrygeist, international playboy, fellow graduate of my alma mater, consumer of adventurous foods, etc. etc. etc.) is living in Beijing at the moment.  And as he apparently needs something to fill his days, he’s participating even as I type this in the 48-hour film fest, which is pretty much exactly what it sounds like.  People who do it have 48 hours to write, shoot, edit, score and otherwise create a short film.  Having made a few short films in my time, I can tell you that this is a pretty ambitious schedule – but I am sure it’s a complete blast. 

I’m not in Beijing at the moment, but I’m still involved in a peripheral way – Andy asked me to contribute some solo acoustic guitar music towards the score for the short.  He only gave me the barest of details as to what the short’s actually about (his notes were something like “folksy, acoustic, good”), but I think I got what I needed from that.  I sent him five pieces of music – full confession, they’re all repurposed from another project, but they seemed to fit the bill so well that I don’t think it matters.  Here’s two of them:

48 Hour Film Fest Track One!!!!!

48 Hour Film Fest Track Two!!!!!

As I said, I don’t really know what the short’s about – apparently the guitarist gets his arm ripped off, though, and keeps playing – so there’s  that.  When it’s finished I’ll post up a link here .  The nice thing is, I can be 10000% certain it’ll be done by tomorrow or the day after, because of the nature of the project.  Polished?  Perfect?  Perhaps not – but finished, absolutely.  And personally, I think “finished” is one of the most important adjectives to attach to any creative project.

