It feels like I just put up Day 1, but here we are with the second of the nine one-hit wonder covers I’m doing in connection with the upcoming release of the first issue of the second volume in my 27 series from Image Comics/Shadowline, 27: Second Set.  This time, it’s “Mickey,” as originally performed by Tony Basil.  I think we’ve all seen the classic video for this one:

I took it in a different direction – obviously I wasn’t going to be able to recreate the drum-focused stomp that opens the tune with just an acoustic guitar (or at least not easily.)  Something about the tune made me think of old blues songs, so that’s how I decided to approach it.  My “Mickey” is a fingerpicked blues… kind of.  I don’t think Blind Lemon Jefferson would give me many points for authenticity here, but considering what I was using for source material, I don’t think it’s too bad.

This is also one of several tunes in the list where I was surprised to learn what the song was actually about.  With a lot of these one-hit wonders, it’s just about the beat and the melody, and whatever meaning the lyrics have is sort of lost (at least for me.)  When you cover a song, though, you have to pay attention to the words, and it’s been fun to see what these songs are trying to say.  “Mickey” seems to be a sort of desperate plea for a guy’s attention, at least in the original.  When you flip the gender around and slow it down, I think something kind of cool happens.

Here’s the MP3:

Mickey

And the video, for those who prefer a little YouTube action:

(This one was suggested by Angie Day, so thanks very much for that.  As with every suggestion I use, she’ll get a signed copy of 27: Second Set #1.  I still have some slots open in the challenge, so feel free to suggest a tune or two!)

