Here we are with day 5 of the 27 Second Set One-Hit Wonder Challenge, and this time around I picked Survivor’s kickass theme from Rocky III, “Eye of the Tiger.”  I had something else already recorded that I was going to put in this slot, but I decided it was too similar to some of the other stuff I’d already done.  I’ll still put it in the rotation (probably tomorrow), but I was jonesing for something a little more badass anyway, so here we are, with Survivor.  To forestall inevitable comments about one-hit-wonderness, I know Survivor is a fairly well-known band, but I think that’s mainly because of this particular tune.  I took a look at their Greatest Hits, and “Eye of the Tiger” was the only song I actually knew, so I feel decently safe picking this. The original version for your enjoyment:

Anyway, it’s kind of a bear (ha!) to record one of these, do up a dumb video (this time with tigers), write up the blog post, get everything in the proper formats, upload to YouTube and do the Facebook and Twitter notifications all in a single day.  Not that I’m complaining – it’s still awesome and I’m having a blast with it – but I really had to dig deep and find my own eye of the tiger to get it all set.

So, not much to say about the recording here.  It’s standard tuning, dropped down half a step from the original.  I played it pretty straight.  I considered doing sort of a novelty version, or really exaggerating the singing (because this is, after all, the theme to a movie where Rocky boxes Hulk Hogan and Mr. T), but when it came right down to it, I didn’t feel right getting all ironic with it.  “Eye of the Tiger” is totally sweet, and I’ll stand by that forever.

Here’s the MP3 version:

Eye of the Tiger

And the video – with a variety of tigers:

 

 

(Today’s pick comes courtesy of a suggestion from Jeremy Holt, so thank you Jeremy!  Four more covers after today, and I have yet to record three of them, so feel free to suggest tunes if you like, either here in the comments, or on my Facebook or Twitter.  All selections I choose will get a signed copy of 27 Second Set #1 sent to them, so pick well, and pick often.)

