We’ve moved forward in time about a decade and a half from the last tune, to the Cardigans’ 1996 hit “Lovefool.”  I think this song sounds less dated than other one-hit wonders I’ve been working with, and part of that may be because it has a more complex harmonic structure than most pop songs.  (On the other hand, I looked at Kajagoogoo’s “Too Shy,” and that song has some wacky chords in it but couldn’t sound more of its time if it wore legwarmers and a Walkman everywhere it went.  So what do I know?)  Here’s the original:

With this version, I just put it into sort of a bossa feel for the verse, and went more rock for the chorus.  This is one where the solo vocal thing bugged me a bit, because I would have loved to have had some harmonies on the chorus.  Maybe when I do my one-hit wonder tour and hire a fourteen-piece band.

Here’s the MP3:

Lovefool

And the video, mixed with a Navy educational clip on the dangers of Ecstasy.  Why?  Er, why not?

 

 

Three more to go, and I haven’t recorded a single one yet.  If possible, I want to get another one in the can today, then two more tomorrow and be done with it – we’ll see how that goes.  Ambition!

(“Lovefool” was suggested by Magnus Aspli on my Twitter.  You can also suggest tunes on my Facebook, or in the comments here.  Any suggestion I pick gets a free signed copy of Second Set #1.  See you tomorrow!)

