Well, here we are – the final day of the one-hit wonder challenge.  It’s been fun, and a good challenge, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I’m looking forward to a break from the daily grind of getting these recorded and out each day.  Still, for quick, down and dirty arrangements and recordings, I think the whole set of tunes isn’t bad, and hangs together pretty well.

My original intention for the final day of the challenge was to do something completely out of left field – a one-hit wonder, but something that wasn’t exactly what people would think of as one.  With that in mind, I looked at jazz standards, holiday tunes, TV theme songs and a number of other things.  For a little while, Harold Faltermeyer’s “Axel F” was the front-runner, which I think would have been tricky and weird and cool.  Then, as the evening was dragging on (I did this one late last night), I realized that I’d been playing around all week with a jazz version of “She Drives Me Crazy,” the 1989 single from the Fine Young Cannibals.  Once I decided to focus on it, the arrangement actually came together fairly quickly, and there it is.  The lyrics to this tune lend themselves to a more subdued interpretation, I think – sort of a stalker vibe as opposed to the original’s “she’s so hot I can’t get her out of my mind” thing.  Here’s the original:

This song, of course, falls into the “18 and Life” camp, in that it’s not this band’s only hit – the Fine Young Cannibals also got to number 1 with their song “Good Thing” (which I loved, back in the day.)  On the other hand, I think this version worked out so well that I’m willing to bend the rules just a bit.  Beside, FYC didn’t last much past that one record, even if they did have two big hits from it (that’s what we call the Spin Doctors Syndrome.)

The video here includes clips from a cool Chinese movie from the 30s, Street Angel.  In case anyone’s interested (and they may not be), the random video clips I threw into the YouTube versions of these tunes were from a massive online database of free public domain video and movies at http://www.archive.org.  There’s some truly amazing stuff in there – pretty much anything you might need to slap something on top of a dumb YouTube clip promoting your comic book.

Speaking of such things, 27 Second Set #1 is out tomorrow, and I hope that you’ll check it out.  Advance reviews have been very positive, and the story goes to some really cool places.  And of course, if you’re here for some other reason and you aren’t familiar with 27, there’s a link to the right where you can pick up the first collection along with my other books.  Thank you to everyone for all the great suggestions and kind words over the last week or so – it’s made this grand endeavor a total blast.

Now, what you’re (possibly) waiting for, the music!

MP3:

She Drives Me Crazy

And the video:

(This tune is actually the second suggestion I picked from Jeremy Holt – good on ‘ya, Jeremy.  I got close to a hundred song recommendations over the course of the challenge, so if I didn’t pick yours just consider yourself in good company.  There’s a chance I’ll do this again at some point, and if I do I’ll definitely take a second look at the existing list.  Thanks again to everyone who commented, made suggestions or just listened!)

