Well, I really wasn’t planning to go this year.  San Diego Comicon, or SDCC as veteran con-goers call it, is one hell of a show.  It’s the biggest, most action-packed comic-related event of the year, with the best parties, incredible networking and immense numbers of fans.  It’s also by far the most expensive.  Hotels that normally cost $50/night are charging $250 with a straight face.  Airfare, food, table fees… all of it is jacked up.  However, it’s the big show, and so to a certain extent that’s to be expected.

I originally thought I’d go once every other year – after all, I live in NYC, and it’s not like we don’t have a massive convention of our very own (NYCC in October).  Since I went last year, this was supposed to be an off year.  But then, around May/June, something mysterious happens – the scent of SDCC starts to waft through the air, and everyone asks everyone else if they’re going.  I got an email about a nice table I could have at a great rate, I got asked to appear on a few cool panels… and soon enough I’m throwing caution (and fiscal responsibility) to the wind and booking a ticket.

So, yes, I will be at San Diego Comicon 2012!  Here’s the info on where I can be found:

Most of the time I will be tabling at the Image booth, which is 2729.  I’ll have plenty of cool stuff available, including plenty of 27, Strongman and some advance looks at Strange Attractors.

I’m also doing some great panels:

Saturday, July 14, 7-8 PM, Room 23ABC – I’ll be on the Writer’s Unite! panel along with a host of award-winning and best-selling writers, including Cullen Bunn, Ray Fawkes and Jim Zub, good friends all.  If you’re an aspiring comics writer, this is the one not to miss.  We’ll discuss pitching your indie comics, writing tips and process, and a ton of other cool topics.  I’ve done this several times before, and it tends to be a really informative, fun time for all.

Sunday, July 15, 2-3 PM, Room 4 Kickstarting Your Webcomics Career: Keenspot 2012— Pioneering webcomics publisher Keenspot returns for their insane 12th annual Comic-Con panel to drop some knowledge! Get words of wisdom from the man behind the second most-funded Kickstarter comics project of all time! Learn how a popular Image Comics creator doubled his book sales at cons by giving his comic away for free online! Hear an amazing major announcement about the future of comic books! Creators scheduled to appear include Thomas Fischbach (Twokinds), Jim Zub (Skullkickers), Benny Powell (Wayward Sons), Brion Foulke (Flipside), Jennifer Brazas (Mystic Revolution), David Campiti (Exposure), R. C. Monroe (Out There), Chris Daily (Punch an’ Pie), Charles Soule (27), and Bobby Crosby (Last Blood).

I have a signing scheduled at the Archaia booth (#2653) on Friday, July 13 from 4:30-5:30 PM, where I’ll be signing some exclusive Strange Attractors teaser posters, which I’ll have in very limited quantity.  These guys:

So, that’ll be San Diego.  It’ll be over before I know it, and I’ll be half-dead, I’m sure.  I’m taking a redeye back on Sunday night, landing at noon, and then heading to band rehearsal at 5.  Lovely.

See you at the show!