So, in the last six days, it’s been announced in Entertainment Weekly that I’m killing Wolverine, and by the Hollywood Reporter that my creator-owned series with Oni Press, Letter 44, is in development as a television show with SyFy.

That’s nuts. How did this happen? I wish I could tell you – it still seems almost misty, like it’s happening to someone else. Or, more pertinent to this blog post, it seems too big to articulate. But I suppose I’ll give it a shot. I mean, words are my job, aren’t they?

Here is what these announcements mean to me – along with the trajectory of the entire last year, really:

I don’t have to be quite as worried that it’s all going to go away.

For years – years – every time I made a wish of any kind (birthday candles, eyelashes, falling stars, you name the trope), it was always the same thing: “I’d like to spend as much of my life creating things as possible, making a living from ideas.” Not that I hate being an attorney – hopefully my She-Hulk series shows you that – but it’s just a different thing. Once you reach a certain point in your life, I think you figure out where your happiness lies, and mine comes from making things, whether music or stories or whatever else. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do – I wrote my first “novel” in fourth grade (it was about a unicorn.)

Now, though, because of everyone who has picked up, written about, talked to me about, tweeted, Facebooked, spoken to their friends about, ordered for their shop, hired me to do or just plain old read my work… I can feel myself relaxing a bit. I think, I hope that I’m not going anywhere. I can think about what’s next. (What’s next = cool stuff, if I have anything to say about it.)

So, thank you, all of you. I better get back to it, though – turns out I have quite a lot of work to do.

